top of page

All Things
Social Security

  • Writer's pictureStephanie O. Joy, Esq.

12 New Compassionate Allowances

Compassionate Allowances (CAL) are the SSA's quick avenue to identify medical conditions are expected to meet Social Security's criteria for disability benefits. These conditions

include many rare disorders as well as certain cancers, brain disorders, etc. Its aim is to substantially reduce waiting time for an award determination for people with the most serious of disabling impairments.

It helps streamline those applicants with conditions that will clearly meets Social Security’s statutory criteria for disability. These SSA rules are the same for both SSDI and SSI. More here:

Recently, the SSA added twelve (12) conditions to this list, and they are:

  • Charlevoix-Saguenay Spastic Ataxia,

  • Choroid Plexus Carcinoma,

  • CIC-rearranged Sarcoma,

  • Congenital Zika Syndrome,

  • Desmoplastic Mesothelioma,

  • Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy – Adult,

  • Pericardial Mesothelioma,

  • Refractory Hodgkin Lymphoma,

  • Renpenning Syndrome,

  • SCN8A-related Epilepsy with Encephalopathy,

  • SYNGAP1-related NSID, and

  • Taybi-Linder Syndrome

The complete list of CAL conditions can be viewed at

If you believe you know of a severely disabling condition or disease and would like SSA to consider adding it to the Compassionate Allowances, go here.

Joy Disability does not charge a legal fee for representing and/or filing an application for people with SSA confirmed CAL medical condition that SSA determines is awardable on initial application based on CAL.

15 views0 comments


bottom of page